Swedish Saviors of Heavy Metal HAMMERFALL Announce New Album, Hammer of Dawn

Swedish saviors of heavy metal HAMMERFALL let the hammer strike again with their twelfth studio album, Hammer of Dawn, set to be released on February 25, 2022 via Napalm Records!

The album’s release is preceded by the arrival of the first single and title track, “Hammer of Dawn,” accompanied by a music video filmed at Liseberg amusement park in Gothenburg, and by famed director Patric Ullaeus.

Joacim Cans on the new album:

“It’s hard to describe in words how extremely happy and proud I am about the outcome of Hammer Of Dawn. It was a struggle, for sure, but in the end we pulled it off and delivered a solid, vital and positive new album. Everyone is on top of his game and together we have created yet another milestone in HAMMERFALL history. Can’t wait to sing these songs live together with my sisters and brothers, The Templars of Steel!”

Oscar Dronjak adds:

“We spent a long time creating the songs for this album, mainly due to the Coronavirus but also because we began working on the material very early. That’s definitely evident in the result, the attention to detail is very big. Another thing that is quite palpable is the energy level, and that can be contributed to the extreme and forced downtime we all had to endure during the pandemic. The atmosphere in the studio was relaxed and laid back and the lack of stress created the perfect working environment for turning up the heat when the red light came on. It was easy to peak when you had to since there was no outside distractions or immediate deadlines. This album is a product of the pandemic in some ways, but more importantly it’s a strong statement that we are experiencing the high point in our creativity at the moment. I’ve said it before: HAMMERFALL has never sounded better than we do right now!”

Hammer of Dawn tracklist:

1. Brotherhood

2. Hammer of Dawn

3. No Son of Odin

4. Venerate Me

5. Reveries

6. Too Old to Die Young

7. Not Today

8. Live Free or Die

9. State of the W.I.L.D.

10. No Mercy

Hammer of Dawn was produced by long time collaborator Fredrik Nordström (In Flames, Opeth etc), who handled mixing, mastering, drum recording, and shared the duty of recording guitars and bass with Pontus Norgren and Oscar Dronjak. Jacob Hansen (Volbeatetc), produced the lead vocals.

When HAMMERFALL released their debut album, Glory To The Brave, in 1997, it signaled the second coming of heavy metal… Since that very day, HAMMERFALL has proudly flown the heavy metal flag high and while doing so have influenced a generation of musicians. They have also left a twenty five year long trail of classic timeless music, sold out shows and an army of loyal fans, aka the Templars Of Steel, in their wake. Rest assured everyone, that legacy continues and in fact strengthens with the arrival of Hammer of Dawn.


Fans can already look forward to seeing Hammer of Dawn live, as in 2022, HAMMERFALL will go on an extensive co-headlining tour through Europe, together with German metal stars Helloween.


25.03.22 NO – Oslo / Sentrum Scene

26.03.22 SE – Göteborg / Partille Arena

28.03.22 FI – Helsinki / Black Box

29.03.22 EE – Talinn / Noblessneri Valukoda

01.04.22 DE – Bamberg / Brose Arena

02.04.22 DE – Hamburg / Sporthalle

03.04.22 DE – Berlin / Verti Music Hall

04.04.22 DE – Regensburg / Donau Arena

08.04.22 ES – Madrid / Wizink Center

09.04.22 ES – Barcelona / St. Jordi Club

11.04.22 IT – Milan / Lorenzini District

12.04.22 DE – Kempten / Black Box

13.04.22 CH – Zürich / Samsung Hall

15.04.22 LU – Luxemburg / Rockhal

16.04.22 NL – Tilburg / 013

18.04.22 PL – Katovice / MCK

20.04.22 BG – Sofia / Arena Armeec

22.04.22 AT – Vienna / Gasometer

23.04.22 CZ – Prague / O2

24.04.22 SK – Zvolen / Ice Stadium

26.04.22 HU – Budapest / Papp Laszlo Sportarena

29.04.22 DE – Bochum / Ruhrcongress

30.04.22 DE – Stuttgart / Schleyerhalle

01.05.22 DE – Frankfurt / Jahrhunderthalle

04.05.22 UK – Manchester / Manchester Academy

05.05.22 UK – London / Brixton Academy


Joacim Cans – Vocals

Oscar Dronjak – Guitar

Pontus Norgren – Guitar

Fredrik Larsson – Bass

David Wallin – Drums





%d bloggers like this: